Wk3 – Artist Conversation – Mimi Haddon

Artist: Mimi Haddon

Exhibition: Color T-Shirts

Media: Fiber

Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Gatov Gallery West

Website: http://www.mimihaddon.com/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/mimihaddon/

 

Mimi graduated from CSULB in 1994 and she is a student currently attending Long Beach. She plans to get a MFA in Fiber Arts. Mimi used only t-shirts in her art work, and she used very bright colors to get the visual impact off the audience. The artwork looked very fun and positive to look at.

Format Analysis

While I was inside, I noticed the very bright colors of the t-shirts and it got me thinking what the message was trying to convey. The room looked to be something that was meant to spread joy and positiveness. There were a lot of ideas to look at and it seemed to be like playground. I noticed the colorful shirts were in all sorts of colors like a rainbow and it appeared to be a climbing rope leaning off to a wall. It appeared to me that I could climb it and it got me thinking wow this was something very interesting that the artist thought of. To tie them together all only with t-shirts was very impressive.

Content Analysis

Mimi uses bright conveying colors to leave a message. She wants the viewers to think about what is happening inside the room. She decided to work only with t-shirts and made them as the art work of what was happening inside. Mimi took an approach to using only t-shirts in her exhibition which was very fun to see. Mimi was able to use these t-shirts as a way to show off art that was all thrown away. She made something I could not even think of with showing off the colors in each shirt. She brought the shirts as a way that they were made on Earth, and it was the people that created it.

Synthesis/My experience 

I had a great experience viewing this art work. I had no idea at first, that all the art inside were made out of t-shirts at first. It really caught me off guard. Mimi was so creative with what she trying to show and make a message to the viewers. I got to feel very positive and happy by looking at her art work. It reminded myself of a child again when I would be playing around inside a playground with no worries at all. This art work was a representation of that to me and each of her t-shirts were of bright colors that stood out to me all individually. Overall I had a fun time watching the art work, and next time I hope to meet more artists and talk with them about their exhibition.

image1-3

Leave a Reply

