Wk10 – Artist Conversation – Amy Duran

Artist: Amy Duran

Exhibition: Life

Media: Fable

Gallery: Marilyn Werby Gallery

 

Amy is a student at CSULB and has her BFA in Ceramics. She wanted to put up a visual fable of her past personal struggles growing up as a child and empower her own sexuality as a woman.

Format Analysis

I was very amazed at the level of art I saw in Amy’s gallery. It was very awesome how everything was hand built with the woodwork and the level of detail on the dolls was amazing. There was even an lever to watch the artwork move.

Content Analysis

Amy told her own story in her art. She wanted to show a story of her personal struggles and show that it is okay to be afraid as an adult. Amy brought out how she would be scared and feel anxiety over how she was and not appreciate herself to be proud as a woman. Amy put on dolls and toys as her display and she displayed a story of what the doll had went through in each stage of her life. Amy’s artwork was to show the classic femininity, to cast off such symbols of vulnerability and weakness and replace them with strength and capability.

Synthesis/My experience 

I enjoyed looking at Amy’s visual fable. It was the first artwork that caught my attention while I was at the art galleries. Amy put in so much work and detail into her artwork and it really showed. It was as if I was staring at some sort of puppet show except it had to be with my imagination. Amy incorporated her art with dolls and I liked how Amy made it start off with a book to let her audience know what they were about to journey in. It was really good piece that I enjoyed to look at. I hope to see more great artwork from Amy.

Leave a Reply

