Wk13 – Artist Conversation – Laura Lopez

Artist: Laura Lopez

Exhibition: Selvatica (wild)

Media: Nature

Gallery: CSULB School of Art

 

Laura is a transfer student from Columbia. She has a really neat accent and speaks good English. She is a Fine Arts major and she really likes color. It is what attracted her to nature, her inspiration.

Format Analysis

Laura used a lot of colors in her gallery and it really made her paintings pop out. It felt as if I was in a jungle. Laura used shapes and detail to make her artwork look very intriguing. I personally liked her art piece with the leopard on it. I felt as if I was going into the painting.

Content Analysis

Laura has made these paintings very easily. As other artists I’ve interviewed, Laura makes her paintings especially fast. She said it took about 3 weeks to do one painting. Laura was attracted to nature because it was something that really showed beauty and wisdom as a whole. Laura talked about how people perceive nature as very good and bad and not really understand what is going on. She said people get it from society and compared it to life. Life is natural and natural is nature. Nature is life and we, the people are insects to nature.

Synthesis/My experience

I really enjoyed looking at Laura’s artwork. There were various different colors and I felt like I was in the jungle looking at Laura’s paintings. They were very detailed and I loved looking at the leopard painting. Laura got me thinking about nature again and how it really should be appreciated more by society.

Leave a Reply

